Preserve America

City of Mesquite named a Preserve America Community

The City of Mesquite is one of the newest 15 Texas communities to be named a Preserve America Community by the White House, U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Department of Commerce and the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation. City Council members were recognized at the Texas Historical Commission’s Annual Conference luncheon held in Fort Worth on May 7, 2004.

First Lady Laura Bush announced the Preserve America initiative in March 2003 to encourage local preservation and recognize community efforts. The extensive application process included a special resolution by the Mesquite City Council supporting historic preservation and documentation of efforts in three categories: Discovering Heritage Through Historic Places; Protecting Historic Resources and Promoting Historic Assets. The City received letters of support from U.S. Senator John Cornyn, Texas Representative Elvira Reyna, Dallas County Commissioner Mike Cantrell and others.

Councilmember Shirley Roberts and Charlene Orr, City Historical Preservation Officer, accepted the designation certificate signed by Mrs. Bush from Texas’ First Lady Anita Perry and Dr. David A. Sampson, Assistant Secretary for Economic Development in the Department of Commerce. Chairman of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, John L. Nau III, announced the designations.