LIBRARY CARDS & BORROWING POLICIES

How do I get a library card?

Come into the Mesquite Main Library (300 W. Grubb Dr.) or the Mesquite North Branch Library (2600 Oates Dr.) and fill out an application at the checkout desk. You will need to show a valid photo ID and proof of current address.


What is acceptable for photo ID and proof of address?

Acceptable Photo ID

  • Current Texas driver’s license
  • Texas Department of Public Safety ID
  • ID card issued by a recreation department or school
  • Employee ID
  • Passport
  • Resident Alien Registration Card
  • Military ID
  • Any other document of an official nature that includes name and photo

Acceptable Proof of Current Address in Your Name

  • Current Texas driver’s license, temporary driver’s license or learner’s permit
  • Texas Department of Public Safety ID
  • Current utility bill (telephone, water, electricity, natural gas, cable)
  • Current property tax receipt
  • Current report card issued from a school
  • Current personalized check
  • Voter’s registration card
  • Official rent receipt, rental agreement, contract or lease
  • Personalized checkbook
  • Any other document of an official natures that supplies proof of residence

How do I get a library card for my child?

A parent or legal guardian can apply for a card for a child under the age of 14 years. The parent’s photo ID and proof of address must be shown. The parent or legal guardian is responsible for all items checked out on a child’s card. Teens between 14 and 17 years old may apply for a card with their own photo ID and proof of address (which can include a school or recreation center ID and recent report card), though a parent or legal guardian will need to sign the application to permit the teen to use the library’s public Internet access computers.


How do I apply for a library card online?

At this time, we do not have the ability to apply for a card online. You will need to come into the library in person to fill out the library card application.


How soon will I get the card?

You will receive the library card as soon as you complete the library card application.


How do I get a card if I am not a Mesquite resident?

A Mesquite Public Library System library card is available free of charge to any Texas resident.


How do I get a card if I am not a Texas resident?

At this time, we are not able to issue cards to out-of-state residents.


How long may I keep the items that I have checked out?

Most items are checked out for three weeks. The exceptions are DVDs and Video Cassettes which are checked out for one week.


How many items may I check out?

When you first apply for your card, you are limited to two items. After that, there is no limit on books. You can check out 3 CD-ROMs at a time. You can check out 2 Playaways at a time. Audiocassettes, CDs, DVDs, and Video Cassettes are limited to 5 in each category. Please note that you must be 14 years and older to check out CDs and CD-ROMs, and 18 years and older to check out DVDs and Video Cassettes.


How do I renew the items I have checked out?

A limit of one renewal is allowed on library materials. Renewals can be made in person, by telephone, or through My Account on our online catalog. Renewals may not be allowed if the item is overdue, if you have fines in excess of $5.00, or if another patron has placed a hold on the item.


Where do I return the items I have checked out?

When the library is open, you can return your items at the checkout desk in the return slot. When the library is closed, you can place your items in the outdoor bookdrops. Please do not put items in the bookdrop if it is so full that the door does not close properly.


How do I know when an item is due?

When you check out an item, a date due sticker is affixed to it. You can also find the due date in the My Account section on our online catalog. You can sign up for a service called Elf. From the library’s home page, follow the link to Elf and fill out the simple registration form, including your library card number and PIN. Elf will then send you a text or email reminder a few days before your items are due. You can combine all the library cards for family members on one account, or even combine cards from different libraries on your Elf account.


How can I have an item sent to another Mesquite Library location?

You may call, or ask a reference librarian to call, either Mesquite Public Library location to request items to be sent for pick up at the other location. Please allow about 3 days for delivery between buildings; you will be called when the item arrives. Items will be held for 3 days after notifying you; if they are not picked up within that time they will be returned to the shelf.


Can I return materials to any Mesquite Library location?

Mesquite Public Library System items may be returned to either the Mesquite Main Library at 300 W. Grubb Dr., or the Mesquite North Branch Library at 2600 Oates Dr.


What happens if I return an item late?

It is the responsibility of the patron to verify the due date at the time the material is checked out. Late charges accrue daily, including days the library is closed. Fines are $0.20 per day for most materials, except for DVDs and Video Cassettes which are $1.00 per day. If you return part of a multi-part set, the set is considered overdue until all parts are returned. If you have overdue materials but cannot pay the fine immediately, go ahead and return the items to stop the fine from increasing. If you owe the library $5.00 or more, your borrowing privileges will be suspended until the fine is paid.


How do I pay a fine online?

At this time, the library patrons cannot pay overdue fines online. The Library accepts cash or checks at either location.


What happens if I lose or damage an item?

Patrons are responsible for all materials checked out on their card. The charge for lost or damaged items includes the original cost of the item plus a $5.00 processing fee. If part of a set is lost or damaged, you may be charged for the entire set.


What should I do if I returned an item, but it still shows checked out to me?

Contact the library at which you checked out the item. We will check the shelves for your items. If the item is not found, we can institute an Overdue Search which will allow you to continue using your card while all parties continue to look for the item.


What should I do if I lose my library card?

Please notify the library immediately if your card is lost or stolen. The library can then put a block on your card to prevent anyone else from using it. If you do not let us know that the card is lost, you will still be responsible for any items checked out on it.


How do I replace a lost library card?

Come in to the library and fill out a new application, providing your photo ID and proof of address. The fee for a replacement library card is $1.00.


Does my library card expire?

Yes, library cards expire at 3 years. To renew your card, we just need to re-verify your information with a photo ID and proof of address.


What is my PIN?

Your PIN is a 4-digit number we provide to you when you receive your library card. Your PIN is needed to log on to one of the library’s public Internet computers, or to sign in to My Account on the library’s online catalog.


Can I change my PIN?

You can change your PIN using My Account on the library’s online catalog, or in person at the checkout desk by showing your photo ID.


How can I find out my PIN if I’ve forgotten it?

You can ask any circulation or reference staff member to look up your PIN for you. You must show a photo ID to verify your identity.


How can I change my email or home address?

You can update your email or address in person, by telephone, or using My Account on the library’s online catalog.