Citation Dismissal Options

Adults may apply for a dismissal option by mail, in person at the Court Clerk’s office or in open court. Juveniles may make the request only in open court. If you apply but do not qualify, you will be notified by the court and will have 12 days to apply for other dismissal programs. Dismissal options are: 

Deferred Disposition
If you are approved for deferred disposition, you can get your citation dismissed (which will keep a traffic citation off your driving record). You will be requested to:
  • Enter a plea of guilty or no contest
  • Pay an administrative fee which is equal to the fine
  • Complete a 60 day probation period
  • If you are under 25 years of age, you must also take the driving safety course as a requirement of the Deferred Disposition on traffic moving violations
If you receive no conviction for any other offense in the 60 day period, the charge will be dismissed.

Eligibility Guidelines
  • You must not have successfully completed a deferred disposition in the Mesquite Municipal Court within 6 calendar months (You may discuss deferred disposition on violations occurring within the 6 month period with the prosecutor by scheduling a court date). 
  • Citations for speeding in excess of 15 mph over the posted speed in a school zone or in excess of 30 mph over the speed limit in other speed zones are not eligible. 
  • Citations for failure to maintain financial responsibility (insurance) are not eligible if the citation resulted from a traffic accident.
  • Citations for offenses occurring in a work zone with workers present are not eligible.
  • You must not hold a commercial driver license.
If you choose this option, complete the Deferred Disposition Request Form and return it with the administrative fee within 12 days from the date of offense. The form is also located on the back of your citation.

Driving Safety Course
Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may be able to request that one moving violation charge be dismissed by taking a driving safety course. However, you will lose that right if you do not provide written notice to the court of your desire to do so on or before 12 days from the date the citation was issued. You will be requested to:
  • Enter a plea of guilty or no contest
  • Pay an administrative fee of $134 for offenses in a school zone and $109 for all other offenses
  • Complete a 6 hour driver’s safety course within 90 days from the date of approval
  • Return the driver’s safety course completion certificate and the Department of Public Safety certified driving record (3-A) to the court within 90 days from the date of approval
Eligibility Guidelines
  • You must have a valid Texas driver’s license
  • Provide proof of financial responsibility (insurance) to the court
  • You have not taken a driver’s safety course for a moving violation within 12 months
  • You must not have been speeding in excess of 24 mph over the posted speed limit or driving more than 95 MPH
  • Citations for offenses occurring in a work zone with workers persent are not eligible
  • • You must not hold a commercial driver license.
If you choose this option, complete the Driver’s Safety Course Form and return it with a copy of your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and the administrative fee to the court within 12 days from the date of offense. The form is also located on the back of your citation.

Other Dismissals
  • A citation for an expired driver’s license may be dismissed if you bring proof to the court that you renewed your license within twenty calendar days from the date of the offense. You must also pay a $20 dismissal fee.
  • A citation for no driver’s license in possession can be dismissed when proof of a valid license is provided to the court. There will be a $10 administrative fee for this dismissal.
  • A citation for no proof of financial responsibility (insurance) may be dismissed if you present proof to the court that your financial responsibility (insurance) was in effect on the date and time of the offense.
  • A citation for an expired inspection certificate may be dismissed if the inspection certificate has not been expired for more than 60 days from the date of the offense and you bring proof to the court that you remedied the defect within twenty working days from the date of the offense. You must pay a $20 dismissal fee
  • A citation for unregistered motor vehicle may be dismissed if you bring proof to the court that you remedied the defect within twenty working days from the date of the offense. You must pay a $20 dismissal fee.